Ginataang Puso ng Saging (Banana Bud/Blossom in Coconut Cream)

My grandmother cooks the best guinataang puso ng saging for me, she would always teach me how to cook it but it seems tedious as she would squeez the chopped  “puso” around three times before cooking it (the way you would do to get ” gata” from the coconut). She uses  “dilis”,  toasted until golden brown without any oil, instead of meat or shrimp.  I was then on my high school years and cooking  wasn’t one of interests yet,  though  this is one of my favourite dishes.  And when no one likes to cook, I used to go to a ” turo turo”  take out store from the neighborhood whenever I start craving for this yummy dish.

In this past few days memories of  this ginataang puso ng saging keeps haunting me… lolz!  Most often I would see some banana blossoms from a supermarket  here, but I’m afraid I don’t really know how to prepare it. Today I’ve tried my luck, got the recipe from a well known recipe site  and yes I made it! Thanks to Mommy Penguin who had shared her recipe, I also would like to share it to everyone…yuuum!!! :-).

Ginataang Puso ng Saging

Ingredients

  • 1 pc. medium Banana Bud/Heart (puso ng saging)
  • 4 slices of ginger
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. cooking oil
  • 1 tbsp. vinegar
  • 100 gms ground pork or shrimp meat
  • 2 pcs jalapeno chillies (siling haba), chopped; optional
  • 1 can (about 1 1/2 cups)  coconut cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cooking Procedure

  1. Remove the outer reddish part of the banana heart and discard. Only work on the yellowish white part found inside.
  2.  Slice the bud lengthwise into 4 parts, then chop each part thinly across the grain. Soak the chopped buds in salted water to prevent discoloration.
  3. When ready to cook, drain the salt water and squeeze out all the juices.
  4.  Saute the ginger in the oil. When they turn golden brown, add the onions and the garlic. Saute until softened.
  5. Add in the ground pork or shrimp meat. Stir until cooked. Add in the chopped banana heart and the vinegar. Cover and do not stir for around 3 minutes.
  6. When the 3 minutes are up, open and add in the chillies. Mix everything inside the pan so that he banana heart can absorb the flavor of the meat. Cook until the banana heart cut-ups are tender and soft.
  7. Add the coconut cream. Simmer for a few minutes more until the sauce is thickened.
  8. Serve warm with lots of rice.
2 thoughts on “Ginataang Puso ng Saging (Banana Bud/Blossom in Coconut Cream)

Leave a Reply

