Pinoy Style Chicken Curry

Last night, I was thinking  again of what to cook for the next day and I remember a good friend of mine sent me a bottle of curry powder from Manila as requested.  With chicken curry on my mind, I visited some sites for the recipe and at least I found one of which I can consider giving a try as it seemed truly  delectable and the best thing is  all ingredients are available in my kitchen cupboard.  This was my first time to cook the dish that I did  follow what is in the recipe.

Going through the recipe,  indeed  Pinoy Style Chicken Curry is a variation of the “Ginataang Manok” (chicken cooked in coconut milk). Only additional vegetables were added and the taste was spiced-up to increase flavor.  And now that I’ve tried the dish by myself   I must say that the recipe is truly a wonderful dish that is worth trying. Thanks to the one who had shared his recipe, I’ll not be making any adjustment on it as for me it’s perfectly alright.

IMG_6564

Chicken Curry

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs chicken, cut into serving pieces
  • 1 big potato, chopped
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 3 stalks of  celery, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 small red bell pepper, cut into cubes
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 thumb ginger, cut into strips
  • 1 cup water
  • a pinch of msg.& maggi magic sarap

Cooking Procedure

  1. Pan-fry the potato and set aside
  2. Pan-fry the chicken and set aside
  3. In the pan where the chicken was pan-fried, sauté the garlic, onion and ginger
  4. Add the pan-fried chicken, fish sauce, and curry powder
  5. Add water and simmer until the chicken is tender
  6. Put-in the red bell pepper, celery and pan fried-potato then simmer for 5 minutes
  7. Add the coconut milk and mix well, season with msg. & maggi magic sarap if desired. Simmer for 5 minutes.
  8. Serve with hot steamed rice. Share & Enjoy.

Number of servings (yield): 6

Footnote: Recipe excerpted from panlasangpinoy.com

One thought on “Pinoy Style Chicken Curry

Leave a Reply

