Ginataang Bayabas or Guavas with Coconut Cream

Guavas brought back fun childhood memories….climbing our neighbor’s guava trees and my grndma’s Ginataang Bayabas. Ahhhh, memories, how precious!!!

I intend to use these guava fruits as “pang-asim” for “sinigang na bangus” but we haven’t found fresh milkfish  or at least any suitable fish “pansigang” from the supermarket were we have our weekly groceries. The thought that it might get mushy and over ripe made me decide to cook it in sugar and coconut milk. This is my first time to cook ginataang bayabas that again I remember my grandma cooking it as vegetable to go with “fried fish” or as dessert after meal.  Try the recipe below, I just did and yes it’s yummy! But of course you can adjust the amount of  sugar if you don’t want it that sweet and the coconut milk  if you want it creamier.

Ripe Guavas

Ginataang Bayabas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2  cups peeled and finely chopped ripe guavas (about 5 pcs. medium size guavas)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups coconut milk
  • 1/2  cup sugar
  • 1/2  cup coconut cream
  • 1/4  teaspoon salt

Cooking Instructions

  1. Boil the guavas, coconut milk and sugar. Note that Guavas must be ripe but firm.
  2. Add salt and stir; boil until guavas are cooked.
  3.  Add coconut cream and simmer for  at least 2 minutes.Remove from fire.
  4. Serve cold if you intend it for dessert.
4 thoughts on “Ginataang Bayabas or Guavas with Coconut Cream

  1. My husband was talking about ginataang bayabas cooked by his mom and he wanted to eat it again. Since I am not familiar with this food ( I eat my guavas straight from the tree) 😉 , I looked for the recipe in the internet. I found your blog !!! I will try cooking the ginataang bayabas, using your recipe. Thank you for sharing this !! I might try cooking the Sweet and Spicy Prawns Stir Fry, too! Thanks, again 🙂

Leave a Reply

